On Grasping the Wind

A new sonnet. I originally called it “Property”, and thought about the subtitle of “or, What’s Mine’s Mine”. But, no, I will call it

On Grasping the Wind (pdf)

Time takes what men build, heights fall, houses trust
in time will, beams below, betray.

It’s not a very complicated argument, but in case I buried it too far in the rubble of my words, it is that on things like charity or taxes (potentially!) or hospitality the only variable that needs changing to turn “the other” from a greedy moocher or idle layabout into something more just is our own attitude towards giving up what is ours. In my neck of the woods, it is common to think of taxes beyond a certain point as high-handed thievery. Sure – unless we give them up freely. Then they aren’t. See?

This is a high standard, and I don’t expect everyone to be persuaded, but please note I am trying to persuade, and not tell you what you ought to think. In case that wasn’t obvious.

Leave a comment